The Bear With Sticky Paws

By Clara Vulliamy

Tiger Tales, 2007

There’s a girl named Lily and she’s being very grumpy, stamping her little feet and slamming the door. She says, “I DON’T WANT ALL THIS BREAKFAST!” and throws down her spoon.” “NO, I won’t wash my face. NO, I won’t brush my hair. NO, I won’t get dressed…” “NO! NO! NO!”

I could criticize many things about this odd little book, but the Lily in me says “NO!” The truth is, its luscious candy-colored illustrations and sparse,wackadoodle text tap into what all kids genuinely want: the love of their parent(s). The freedom to climb the curtains if they want. More ice cream treats than they can count. And, of course, a polar cub to play with. My daughter thinks the page where Lily screams “No!” about a million times (pre-taste-of-her-own-medicine) is absolutely hilarious. She gets it, and that’s where this book succeeds. But please note that I have no desire to read “The Bear With Sticky Paws Goes to School.” Come on, really?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

